League of Legends is a fast-paced, competitive online game that blends the speed and intensity of an RTS with RPG elements. Two teams of powerful champions, each with a unique design and playstyle, battle head-to-head across multiple battlefields and game modes. With an ever-expanding roster of champions, frequent updates and a thriving tournament scene, League of Legends offers endless re-playability for players of every skill level.

As of the start of the League of Legends season, ranked play in League of Legends is split into the following 9 leagues:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Challenger

In Season 9, all leagues will be tiered into four divisions, instead of five (I, II, III, IV – with IV being the lowest and I being the highest). As players win games, they gain league points, also known as LP. The amount of LP won per game varies from player to player and is dependent on the Match Making Rating, or MMR. Upon reaching 100 LP in a given division, players enter a promotion series, where they must win a majority of their games to prove they belong in a higher division. If a player loses a game, they will lose LP and, if they continue to lose, they’ll hit zero LP. In this case, a player may be demoted if their MMR is too low for their current division. League boosting can help the player retain or improve their rankings throughout the season.

Read More